Jimmy Shane, Miss HomeStreet honored at annual awards banquet

ARLINGTON, Wash.—The people who race the fastest race boats in the world celebrated the 2022 H1 Unlimited Racing Series here this evening at the sport’s annual awards banquet, held this year at the Angel of the Winds Resort and Casino. Jimmy Shane and his Miss HomeStreet team of Madison, Indiana, claimed their national titles while Shane also officially announced the end of his successful career as a driver.

Shane, 36, of San Antonio, Texas, won five races during the 2022 season and brought his career victory total to 25, a number that ties him with Dean Chenoweth with the fourth most in the sport’s history. His national championship this season was his seventh, which also puts him among the sport’s legends. He now ends his career tied for second all time with Bill Muncey and Chip Hanauer—names that are familiar to anyone who has followed unlimited hydroplane racing.

“It’s been a wonderful ride,” he told the audience. “I’ve been fortunate to be part of the best teams. They’ve let a kid live his dream, win races, and do good. There have been so many memories. It’s been quite a ride.”

In addition to the awarding of the national championship trophies, the event featured several honors to people within the sport, as chosen by a vote of the drivers, owners, and crew chiefs.

The U-11 Unlimited Racing Group of Cle Elum, Wash., was chosen as the crew of the year; Taylor Evans of the U-40 Miss Beacon Plumbing of Snohomish, Wash., was crew chief of the year; and Sharon and Kelly Stocklin, also of the Miss Beacon Plumbing, were honored as team owners of the year. Guntersville, Alabama, was the race site of the year, and Griggs Ace Hardware in the Tri-Cities, Wash., was team sponsor of the year.

H1 Unlimited volunteers of the year were Tait and Jared Meyer for their work in producing live streaming broadcasts of the races on the sport’s YouTube channel. Jan Shaw, director of operations for H1 Unlimited; Kevin Austin, the sport’s legal counsel; and Tim Austin, chairman of the board of directors, were given outstanding contribution awards.

The Chairman’s Award was presented to Kathy Powell, the retiring director of the annual race in the Tri-Cities, and to Rick Sandstrom, the sport’s chief referee.

In addition to honoring Shane with the driver’s title and Miss HomeStreet with the team championship, other recognitions went to the U-9 Miss Tri-Cities of the Strong Racing Team, along with drivers Corey Peabody and J. Michael Kelly, for placing second in the national standings. Jeff Bernard and his U-91 Miss Goodman Real Estate team received third-place honors.

The H1 Unlimited Racing Series saw a total of eight races at five locations in 2022 and saw the use of a new race format that featured two-lap match races. The season started in late-June with the Gold Cup in Guntersville, Alabama; continued with stops in Madison, Tri-Cities and Seattle; and wrapped up in mid-September at San Diego.