Auburn, WA – December 5, 2022

J. Michael Kelly has signed to drive Strong Racing’s U-8 for the 2023 H1 Unlimited season. Mike began racing outboard hydroplanes at 9 years of age. He won his first H1 National High Points Driver Championship in 2021. He has 14 career wins, including the 2016 Gold Cup.

  • 2004 H1 Unlimited Rookie of the Year
  • First win was 2009 at the UIM World Championship in Doha, Qatar
  • Four-time winner in Seattle, WA. (2014, 2015, and 2019, 2022)
  • Inducted into the APBA Hall of Champions in 2021 for the 7th time in his career, which was his first such induction for the Unlimited Class.
2022 APBA Gold Cup champion Corey Peabody has signed to drive the U-9 for 2023. As part of a team reorganization Peabody has also assumed additional responsibilities in his new role as Team General Manager.

Corey began racing outboard hydroplanes in 1998 alongside teammate J. Michael Kelly.

  • First qualified as an H1 Unlimited driver in 2016.
  • Claimed first ever H1 Unlimited victory at the 2021 HAPO Columbia Cup.
  • Finished on the podium at every race during the 2021 H1 Unlimited Season, and was the only driver to do so.
  • Won his first APBA Gold Cup in 2022.
Two year U-9 team lead Jeff Campbell has been named Crew Chief overseeing race preparations and boat set-up on both Strong Racing hulls.  Jeff brings a wealth of knowledge and leadership experience to the Strong racing team for 2023, highlighted by twelve years with the Miss Budweiser organization and 9 years as Crew Chief for Jones Racing. Race wins 59 – Gold Cups 8 – National Championships 10

Jeff’s racing career started early at age 14, when he set his first world record in a limited hydroplane and would go on to set 3 records and win the 1985 One Liter National Championship. His first unlimited experience would come helping his brother Mike Campbell work on the Miller American hydroplane team in 1987, which led to other unlimited teams like the US West Cellular, Frank Kenny Toyota and the 1988 Mr. Pringles Race team prior to joining the Miss Budweiser team in 1992-2004. In 2011 Jeff joined the Jones Racing team and quickly made the U-9 into a competitive team. In 2018 Jeff led the team to 5 race wins including the Gold Cup and National Championship. Jeff has won the H1 Unlimited Crew Chief of the year 3 times during his 9 years at Jones Racing.

Team owner Darrell Strong commented “I’m very pleased Mike, Corey and Jeff have shown their continued commitment to Strong Racing.  Going forward, I felt the need to restructure the team in a more effective organization and I’m particularly pleased Corey was willing to step up to more responsibilities.  With Jeff as Crew Chief on both boats, we’re looking forward to being among the top teams in 2023!”