New Boat Names, Numbers & Drivers For Oryx Cup

Theoret RobertsonWith the ten boat roster finalized for the 2014 Oryx Cup UIM World Championship, fans will have to do some updating of the boat names and numbers as well as the drivers on their score sheets.

With just a few weeks to go before the Oryx Cup, Ellstrom Racing announced that Kip Brown would not be making the trip but would receive treatment for a herniated disc in his neck.

Erick Ellstrom then announced that the coveted ride would go to veteran Canadian driver Jean Theoret, a six time winner on the circuit from 2005 – 2009. Theoret’s six wins include the 2006 Detroit APBA Gold Cup driving for Schumacher Racing.

In another driver change, Centurion Racing announced that Jesse Robertson will replace veteran Greg Hopp in the 12 Miss DiJulio in Doha.  Robertson qualified as an unlimited driver in 2013 in Mark Evans’ 57 Miss FEDCO and drove the boat to a fourth place finish in the Coeur d’Alene Diamond Cup.

At Schumacher Racing, the boat name and number are both changing.  The former 37 Miss Beacon Plumbing will compete as the 21 Miss Seattle with Dave Villwock driving.

As the owners, drivers, crew members and H1 officials prepare for the trip to the Middle East, Chairman Steve David commented, “It’s an exciting time as we begin our second five year agreement with the Qatar Marine Sports Federation for the Oryx Cup on Doha Bay.”

David added, “We are indebted to Sheikh Hassan bin Jabor-Al Thani and the terrific staff at the QMSF for the impact the Oryx Cup has had on our sport.  Our involvement in this prestigious event has given H1 an international platform and increased our presence on the world stage as well as providing the financial support necessary for us to continue to run our domestic races in the USA.”

The 2014 Oryx Cup UIM World Championship will take place on Doha Bay in the Arabian Gulf November 20 – 22 with the Championship Final Heat taking place on Saturday November 22.

October 24th, 2014|