Jones Racing

Driver Profile: Jon Zimmerman

Jon Zimmerman’s racing career began when he started racing scale electric hydroplanes in 1991. Staying in touch with his roots, he still races a 1/10th scale RC hydro when his busy schedule permits.

Later, Jon and friends raced 18hp A Stock outboard hydros near the Stan Sayres pit area on Thursday evenings in the summer.  In 1994, one of his friends bought a 2.5 Stock inboard which became Jon’s first serious ride.  After a year, he bought a 2.5 Stock inboard which he turned into one of the fastest boats in the country in its class.

In 2004, Jon built himself a new 5 Liter hydro.  In his new boat, he set four world records and missed a national high point championship by just 13 points.

In 2010, Dr. Ken Muscatel made Jon co-driver of his U-25 Superior Racing Unlimited.  Later that season, Zimmerman substituted for JW Myers who was injured in a devastating crash at the Detroit APBA Gold Cup driving the U-37 Peters and May. He finished the 2010 season in 7th place in the Driver’s High Point standings.

Zimmerman also subbed for Steve David at the 2011 Detroit APBA Gold Cup, driving the U-9 as a substitute for the U-1 Oh Boy! Oberto after David’s crash in the final heat at the 2011 Madison Regatta.

In 2012, Zimmerman made the most of the opportunity to drive the entire season for Mike and Lori Jones.  Jon and the Jones Racing team were fast and consistent, scoring an impressive 4th place finish in ANG H1 Hydroplane Series season high points.

Jon and his wife Joanne live in Maple Valley, Washington with their son Jack.


Team Profile: Jones Racing

Mike and Lori Jones have owned a number of Unlimited hulls and will return to the ANG H1 series in 2012 with a completely refurbished U-9.  A new cockpit and cowling will give the boat a new profile on the water.

Jones Racing’s biggest victory came in the 2001 Gold Cup with Mike Hanson driving.

Since the 1950s, Mike Jones has competed in every category of APBA racing. He’s driven everything from A Stock Outboards to Limited Inboards to Unlimiteds and has served as Chairman of the UIM Offshore Commission.
Mike qualified as an Unlimited hydroplane driver in 1993 when he shared the ride in the U-55 with Dr. Ken Muscatel.
As the winning owner of the 2001 APBA Gold Cup, Mike Jones became the first sitting APBA President to win the APBA’s top award since Jonathon Wainwright in 1907.

Crew Chief: Jeff Campbell

Jeff brings a wealth of knowledge and leadership experience to the U-9 team for 2012, including twelve years with the Miss Budweiser organization, were he served in a number of capacities including design and fabrication.

Jeff’s racing career started at an early age, at only 14 he set his first world record in a limited hydroplane and would go onto set 3 records and win the 1985 national championship.  His first unlimited experience would come helping his brother  Mike work on the miller American hydroplane team in 1987 which led to other unlimited teams like the US West Cellular, Frank Kenny Toyota and the 1988 Mr. Pringles team and others prior to joining the Miss Budweiser team in 1992 and continued until the team stopped racing in 2004.

 Jeff continued to hone his hydroplane skills by fabricating parts for other teams and building nearly 100 scale model race boats and is currently the president of the Electric scale unlimiteds club.

In 2011 Jeff was called upon by owners Mike and Lori Jones, and Mike Hanson crew chief for the U-1 Miss Madison/Ob Boy! Oberto, to bring the 9 to Detroit as a last minute replacement for the Oberto race team, and was so impressed by how well Jon Zimmerman and the boat preformed that he decided to call upon some of his former Miss Budweiser  team mates to run the  team at the next two races.

With the help of Dave Arnold and Mike McIntosh, the U-9 qualified in the top half of the field, besting a number of well financed teams and setting the stage for a major comeback in 2012 of the Jones  Racing team.


The Roostertail

  • Boat Name: Team RedDOT
  • Team Website: http://www.u9racing.com
  • Owner: Jones Racing
  • Home Port: Kent, WA
  • Driver: Jon Zimmerman
  • Driver Rookie Year: 2009
  • Boat Colors: White
  • Primary Sponsor: RedDOT Corporation
  • Associate Sponsors: Sound Propeller Services, Les Schwab Tires, Fastenal, EFW
  • Crew Chief: Jeff Campbell
  • Crew:

    Mike Campbell
    Mike Mcintosh
    Dave Arnold
    Harvey Chenault
    Joseph Parshall
    Jason Elhard
    Steve Peterson
    Matt Sontag
    Brian Gibb
    Jason Theuret
    Teri Campbell


  • Public Relations: Reggie Frederick
  • Engine: Lycoming T-55/L-7 Turbine
  • 2013 Boat Points: 5926
  • 2013 Driver Points: 5926
  • 2013 Season Finish: 4th
  • Victories:

    2001 Gold Cup with Mike Hanson Driving