Courtesy of Jared Meyer aka “mcfatty510” via YouTube:

2009 UIM World Championship: Final Heat
DOHA, QATAR (November 21, 2009) – J. Michael Kelly in the U-7 Graham Trucking won his first hydroplane final in grand fashion, passing an ailing U-16 Ellstrom Elam Plus in the final lap to win the inaugural Oryx Cup UIM World Championship. Steve David in the U-1 Oh Boy! Oberto finished second giving him enough points to lay claim to both the team and driver H1 Unlimited National High Points Championship and retain the coveted U-1 designation for the 2010 season. Villwock in the U-16 had engine difficulty after a bumpy ride through the west turn on the second lap and the usually strong charging orange and blue hull started to compression stall and yellow flame came through the tailpipe. He managed to hold off Kelly until the final lap. The final heat was rerun after Jeff Bernard in the U-5 flipped during in its initial running. Bernard was talking with the media and the crowd in Doha and appears to be fine.

2007 Chevrolet Cup at Seafair: Heat 2B
One of H1 Unlimited’s greatest races, David Bryant in the U-10 Hoss Mortgage Investors comes from behind in Lane 3 to challenge Steve David in the U-6 Oh Boy! Oberto at the finish.

2006 APBA Gold Cup Final Heat:
2nd year driver Jean Theoret in the U-37 MIss Beacon Plumbing loses his engine cowling and rear vertical wing on the first lap, then holds of rookie Mike Allen in the U-7 Dick Scott/Miss DYC to win racing legend Billy Schumacher his first APBA Gold Cup as an owner in his first year as an owner.

2005 Seafair: Consolation Heat

1999 APBA Gold Cup: Final Heat
Detroit, MI (July 11, 1999) – Returning to competition after a nearly three year hiatus, Chip Hanauer, driving the U-100 Miss PICO, held off three-time defending APBA Gold Cup Champion Dave Villwock in the U-1 Miss Budweiser to capture his eleventh career APBA Gold Cup. Hanauer has taken the Detroit sponsored Miss PICO to victory in three of the five 1999 Ralph’s Unlimited Hydros Thunder Tour presented by Las Vegas events. “My first Gold Cup here in 1982 with Fran Muncey and Atlas Van Lines was the most satisfying of my career, but this is very special and ranks number two,” said Hanauer. “We had a pretty tough week. When I got here to the pit area at 8:00 Thursday morning, our boats weren’t here yet. Later, I learned that we had scraped up a sponson on a freeway overpass. We never got to run our primary boat on Thursday, and then it was too windy to run on Friday. We were using the preliminary heats just to learn how to set the boat up for the final. Once we got the lead on the start, we were able to control the racecourse. Once you have the lead here, you can make it very tough for the guy behind to pass.” Hanauer’s win capped off an exciting Hydros final that saw Dave Villwock in the U-1 Miss Budweiser chasing Hanauer to the finish line only to finish second. U-10 York International & Young Country present Miss Detroit Yacht Club driver Mark Weber, from nearby St. Clair Shores, gave his hometown crowd something to cheer about by finishing third in this year’s Chrysler Jeep APBA Gold Cup. Rookie Greg Hopp again demonstrated why he is the odds-on favorite for Rookie of the Year honors, winning Heat 4-B and bringing home the U-15 R.S. Eastin Hotels in fourth place in the final. Hanauer’s 1999 Chrysler Jeep APBA Gold Cup victory places him just one win away from Bill Muncey’s all-time career wins record of 62. Already a member of the Motorsports Hall of Fame, Hanauer’s Gold Cup record is impressive.

1990 Madison Regatta: Heat 2A

A three-lap battle between Chip Hanauer in the U-31 Miss Circus Circus and Tom D’Eath in the U-1 Miss Budweiser concludes with a photo finish.

1989 San Diego Gold Cup: Final Heat
Arguably one of the best Gold Cup races ever, Tom D’Eath driving the U-1 Miss Budweiser takes control from the start until the final lap when Miss Budweiser’s turbine engine malfunctions due to the salt water in Mission Bay and slows down allowing George Woods Jr. in the piston-powered U-2 Oh Boy! Oberto to take the lead on the backstretch setting up a finish for the ages.

1988 Seafair: Final Heat

Tom D’Eath in the U-1 Miss Budweiser almost loses it coming out of turn 4 at the end of lap 1 on a very rough Lake Washington and leads the entire race until Chip Hanauer in the U-00 Miller High Life gives him a challenge on the final lap to the finish.