Seafair Volunteers Honored at Annual Banquet

RENTON, WASHINGTON –Saturday, Seafair the festival organizers for the H1 Unlimited Hydroplane Racing Series race in Seattle held their annual volunteer appreciation banquet honoring the hundreds of volunteers that make the summer long festival happen.

According to Kathy McLemore, Seafair weekend co-chair, the talent and the dedication of the volunteers that make their many events possible, “and once again blew the organization away. “  She said that thousands of hours were committed to the planning, execution, and recovery of the dozens of events during 2018 and the banquet was a away to show appreciation to the volunteers.

Honorees included:

Bill Myers: Volunteer of the Year

Carol Lee: Event Operations Volunteer of the Year

Teresa Rommel: Race Operations Volunteer of the Year

Josh Gana: Emergency Management Volunteer of the Year

Barry Mendonca: Air Show Top Gun

Dale Cunning: Doug Dahl Photography Award

Mark  Ohlstrom: Darryl Newsham Award

Chris Allen: Boat Club Volunteer of the Year

Andy Currier, Hope Huish, Scott Paulsen, Alan Cobb, Jim Deardorff, Al Book, Mark Johnson, Mariana Matthews, Lori Davidson & Cheri Hans also were honored with an Extra Mile Award.

Others acknowledged for service included: Bob Wolfe, Dennis Fortney, and Bob Taylor

The H1 Unlimited Hydroplane Racing Series would like to thank all the Seafair volunteers for their time and energy they put into their summer festival and hydroplane races.

If you are interested in volunteering for the 70th anniversary of Seafair this summer contact Seafair at or call (206) 728-0123

February 4th, 2019|